Makeup Forever Ultra HD Foundation Review

image

In my journey to find my perfect foundation, I was instantly drawn to the new Makeup Forever Ultra HD Foundation. Aimed at 4K high definition images it claims to provide a flawless and natural appearance. As a previous user of their standard HD Foundation (which I would use on special occasions, as it gave such an immaculate finish) I really wanted to try out this new formulation.

Makeup Forever state:
“ULTRA HD foundation feels like a second skin, but still provides medium coverage, and the light-diffusing formula looks natural and makes skin look flawless and feel moisturised. Exclusive 4K Complex guarantees invisible, natural and comfortable makeup. The fluid texture blends in seamlessly and conceals imperfections to unify the skin’s texture. Great for all skin types, and features a full-range of shades to cover all skintones”.

Word of warning if you’re a fan of the standard HD formulation, this will be discounted so stock up now. The new Ultra Foundation has a new colour matching system. However, Makeup Forever have made it easy to find your new shade if you were a user of their old formulation by referencing the matching shades on the bottle and their website.
E.g My shade 180 in the older formulation = R530 in the new formulation.
With an impressive 40 shades to choose from this is great news as you’re more likely to find a near perfect (or perfect) shade match, especially if you have a paler or darker complexion. The Ultra HD Foundation shades consist of three numbers. The first indicating light, medium, tan or dark. The Light shades start with 2, the Medium shades 3, Tan shades 4 and the Dark shades a 5. The last two digits give an indication of lightest (05) and darkest (45) shades with an increase in intervals of 5. Makeup Forever seem to really be trying to make finding your shade as simple as possible.

My Thoughts:

On application the foundation applied smoothly and extremely easily, and as it is a water base foundation this could explain why. The finish is more silky than dewy which suits me fine as I have combination skin and have always gravitated to matte foundations. My skin truly felt like I had no foundation on which I’m a huge fan, as I don’t like to feel like I’m wearing a mask of makeup especially now it’s getting warmer. Mostly I was very impressed by the overall finish and longevity. My face looked amazingly flawless but it felt light and breathable. I managed a full 6hrs before needing to blot my t-zone, but to be honest I could have gone without, it’s just my personal preference.

image

This new formulation also contains hyaluronic acid which I love, as from current usage hyaluronic acid evens outs my complexion and hydrates my skin. Looking through the formulation of this foundation and my personal experience, this new 4K foundation will work well for dry skin, and as it does not leave a dewy finish it’s still suitable for those with oily or combination skin, but I would advise using a mattifying primer and/or setting the foundation.

Would I recommend this foundation,,, a huge yes. The number of shades is impressive and the overall finish and feel is amazing.
Retailing from £29, the Makeup Forever HD Ultra Foundation can be purchased as Debenhams and PAM Cosmetics.

Leave a comment