Summer Makeup – Foundation

Foundation Meltdown

Summer Makeup

Summer Makeup

 

Remember the scene from the wizard of Oz when the wicked witch of the west gets wet, “What have you done! I’m melting! I’m Melting! Oh, what a world! What a world!“. That’s how I use to feel sometimes during the summer whenever I wore foundation. The foundation slowly melting off my face making me look patchy and slightly odd. No matter how hard I looked for a summer foundation, I always ended up with foundations which matched my complexion, but were too heavy for me during the very hot summer days. And anything lighter including the popular BB creams tend to have a smaller shade range, and I could never find one which matched my complexion.

What To Do??

My Summer Foundation Tip = Get some Aloe Vera Gel.

I started thinking,  what could I use to make the foundations I already own apply a lot lighter, but still give me a “no makeup”, makeup fresh-faced look. I’ve tried mixing creams with my foundations, but I always found it a bit hit n’ miss and not that much better in the summer heat. Then I thought way not try Aloe Vera gel. It’s light, cooling and I’ve used Aloe Vera gel on my face and on my hair with no issues.

I mixed some Aloe Vera gel with my Bare Minerals Matte Foundation, and added a few drops of my Clinique Stay Matte Foundation to enrich the colour of the gel to my desired pigmentation. What I ended up with was a light tinted face gel.

My Aloe Vera gel Foundation Finished Look (set with Ben Nye Luxury Powder – Nutmeg)

Aloe Vera Foundation Mix

Aloe Vera Foundation Mix

Application

The gel applied easily with my fingers, which is ideal for me during the summer as I like something I can quickly put on and go. It set almost immediately and gave me a Matte appearance, I guess as the foundations I added to the gel were Matte based this gave the gel an overall matte finish.

Longevity

I wasn’t expecting a huge staying power but I was really impressed, I managed 4 hours before I started to reach for the blotting sheets, that may not seem impressive but it was 26°C/78F outside and apart from my t-zones looking shiny. My foundation didn’t appear heavy, it had not melted off my face, and most importantly still looked good.

 Verdict

This is now going to be my staple foundation for the summer. I was really pleased with the overall  finish. It was really quick and easy to produce, and it didn’t break me out. It’s definately worth having a go so try making your own Aloe Vera based Summer Foundations, and let me know how you found it. Remember when you’re making your Aloe Vera Foundation mix, bear in mind the gel will mimic the foundation which it’s being mixed with.

What are your Summer Makeup Musts, and let me know your experiences using Aloe Vera as a foundation base.

Don’t forget to Like and Subscribe.xx

2 thoughts on “Summer Makeup – Foundation

Leave a comment